top of page

Anita Harris

​

Hello! My name is Anita! I’m a new grad located in Oregon. I spend a lot of time traveling, and dreaming about traveling. Here, I share travel tips and photos for people with all budgets. I also talk about my life sometimes too!  

 

  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureAnita Harris

Here are my top three favorite movies. What are yours?

Updated: Aug 1, 2019

Watching movies is a great hobby. Scroll to find out my top faves!




I love movies! Movies have helped build my love of travel, my thoughts on relationships, other cultures, food-everything. While there are hundreds of movies I could talk about, that I love so much. However, these picks are my top favorite movies of all time (minus the Harry Potter series), that have inspired me in some way.



Under the Tuscan Sun

This is my most favorite movie of all time, EVER. I dread re-watching movies. I need at least a one year gap between movie rewatching periods. BUT this movie, I would watch every day if I could. If I’m being totally honest, this movie is how I would choose to live my life. I talk to my fiance every day about dropping everything and going to buy a villa in Italy (FYI- he said maybe). This movie is the reason I went to Positano in the first place. Just saying, Under the Tuscan Sun made Positano cool before it was cool.


Plot

Frances Mayes is a 35-year-old San Francisco writer whose perfect life has just taken an unexpected detour. This leads her on a journey of love, friendship, and travel.



Corrina, Corrina

Movies rarely make me cry (I see you My Sister’s Keeper), but this movie was heartfelt and beautiful. Everytime I watch it, I am filled with joy. Whoopi Goldberg does a phenomenal job as Corrina. Her performance is funny and loveable. Corrina, Corrinna sheds light on race issues, and the importance of loving others based on their inside not their skin color. I swear, everytime I watch this movie I turn into a giddy 12 year-old girl. This love story will turn anyone into a gushy mess by the end.


Plot

When Manny Singer's wife dies, his young daughter Molly becomes mute and withdrawn. To help cope with looking after Molly, he hires sassy housekeeper Corrina Washington, who coaxes Molly out of her shell and shows father and daughter a whole new way of life. Manny and Corrina's friendship delights Molly and enrages the other townspeople.



Slumdog Millionaire

Now, I’m a very very big sucker for Dev Patel. I also love movies that are set internationally and seem to be cultural. So you can be your dollars-bottom that I loved Slumdog Millionaire. This movie has the most compelling storyline. My emotions were all over the place. Dev Patel’s performance is amazing (as usual), and his characters story is heartbreaking. By the end of the movie, you’re really just hoping that he has a win (besides the really big, obvious one).


Plot

Slumdog Millionaire is an Oscar-winning British film that chronicles the story of a man in Mumbai who does well on an Indian version of Who Wants to be a Millionaire? The man, Jamal Malik, grew up in an incredibly poor region of Mumbai and is accused of cheating when he nears the final round of competition.






These are just a few of my favorites, but I’m curious to know what are your favorite movies? Leave a comment below!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page