top of page

Anita Harris

​

Hello! My name is Anita! I’m a new grad located in Oregon. I spend a lot of time traveling, and dreaming about traveling. Here, I share travel tips and photos for people with all budgets. I also talk about my life sometimes too!  

 

  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureAnita Harris

Hot Air Ballooning in Portland: Everything You Need to Know



It finally happened! I have crossed off a bucket list item: hot air ballooning. First, let me just say that I am afraid of heights, especially when hanging from a basket thousands of feet in the air. However, the point of my bucket list is to push me to my limits and force me to out of my comfort zone for an unforgettable experience. This was one of those moments.


Me, and my fiance, took a sunrise hot air balloon over the wine valleys of Aurora, Oregon. We woke at 5 A.M to get ready to arrive at the air field by 6 A.M. When we arrived we signed waivers and watched the balloons get blown up. We shared a balloon with 3 other groups, which seemed like a lot at first, but was the perfect amount for the basket.




Before the basket even lifted into the air, I was already on edge. The sharp and sudden sound of the large flame bursting above my head did not help. Our flight instructor was wonderful and helped to keep everyone calm by telling us facts about air balloons and stating safety instructions. By the time I managed to look over the edge of the basket, we were already hundreds of feet in the air.



After initial shock of it wears off, it a beautiful experience. The silence of the sky is calming and allows you the space to reflect on the wonderful planet we live on. As the sun rose over Mt. Hood, I couldn't help but appreciate all the world has to offer. We flew over wineries that stretched to for miles, and farms that held hazelnuts for an hour. Finally, we landed in a large, empty field. The landing was smoother than I thought, but still violent. We helped pack away the balloon, then we headed back in a van to the airfield. Before heading home, we had mimosas and toasted to a successful flight while the instructor told us about the history of hot air ballooning.





A special thank you and shout out to the Portland Rose Hot Air Balloon. They were safe, professional, and fun to fly with. We had a blast, and I would recommend them highly.


Have you ever been hot air ballooning? If not, do you want to?

bottom of page